The One With The Rumor

This episode is one of my favorites of the season for several different reasons. First, it’s a Thanksgiving episode. I love holiday-themed episodes because it gives writers a chance to come up with something unique under a familiar territory. Friends has always had awesome Thanksgiving episodes, and this season’s was no exception. Second, there are so many funny lines (literally, just about every single line made me laugh) it just reminds you once again what a great show Friends is. And finally, Brad Pitt guest stars in it. It was a big deal back in 2001 when it originally aired, not just because Brad Pitt is a huge star but also because as everyone knows, he and Jennifer Aniston were married in real life. Yes, they were Hollywood’s golden couple until Angelina decided to be a homewrecker and ruin everything. Sorry for all you Jolie fans out there, but I was always part of Team Aniston.

So getting back to the show, right from the opening scene, I was cracking up thanks to Joey –

It’s Thanksgiving and Monica invites Will Colbert (played by Brad Pitt), a high school friend, over for dinner. Will was supposedly really fat in high school but after heavy dieting, lost 150 pounds and now looks really good. When Monica tells Will that Rachel will be coming also, he gets very upset. Will absolutely hates Rachel because she was really mean to him in high school and made his life miserable. Rachel was the popular cheerleader and Will was the social reject. Rachel, however, doesn’t remember Will due to his change in appearance, and is completely shocked to find out that he started an “I Hate Rachel Green” Club at their high school with none other than Ross. It’s just an all-around hilarious storyline as it becomes revealed that Will and Ross started a nasty rumor about Rachel and what that rumor is about.

If you don’t want to read everything that I just wrote, please at least watch this clip! It explains what the “I Hate Rachel” Club is about and what the rumor Will and Ross spread about Rachel is. It’s so funny, you won’t regret watching it!

Some of my favorite quotes from this part of the episode were:

Monica: This is my husband Chandler. Chandler, this is Will.
Will: Hey.
Chandler: Oh, hey. I’d shake your hand but I’m really into the game. Plus I think it’d be better for my ego if we didn’t stand right next to each other.

Will
: God, we were lame back then. Do you remember how into dinosaurs we were?
Ross: (Awkward laugh)
Will: So, what do you do now?
Ross: (Changing the subject) So how long are you in town?

Will: (To Ross) Look at her standing there with those yams. My two worst enemies, Rachel Green and complex carbohydrates.

Will: We started a rumor.
Rachel: What rumor?
Phoebe: Oh, come on Will. Just take off your shirt and tell us.

Rachel: Ross!
Ross: It’s no big deal. We.. We said that.. The rumor was that, um, you had both male and female reproductive parts.
Will: Ha!
Rachel: What?!
Will: That’s right! We said your parents flipped a coin and decided to raise you as a girl, but you still had a hint of a penis.

In another storyline of the episode, Monica announces that she won’t be cooking turkey for Thanksgiving dinner because Phoebe’s a vegetarian, Rachel can’t stand the smell since she’s pregnant, and Chandler hates Thanksgiving food. Joey, being an extreme glutton, argues that turkey is a must for Thanksgiving and she needs to cook it because he can eat the whole thing by himself. The turkey turns out to be huge but Joey somehow manages to finish it all by the end of the night. It’s a minor storyline compared to the main one with Brad Pitt, but Joey is always so funny and can pull anything off. That’s one of the reasons why he’s my favorite character!

This is a clip at the end of the episode when Joey wears Phoebe’s old maternity pants to help him out with the turkey.

Best quotes from this part of the episode:

Monica: Just so you know, I’m not gonna make a turkey this year.
Joey: Why not?!
Monica: Well, Phoebe doesn’t eat turkey..
Joey: Phoebe!!
Phoebe: Turkeys are beautiful, intelligent animals.
Joey: No, they’re not! They’re ugly.. and stupid.. and delicious!

Joey: (To Monica) That’s right! Cause I’m a Tribbiani! And this is what we do! I mean, we may not be great thinkers, or world leaders. We don’t read a lot or run very fast. But damn it, we can eat!

Monica: (To Joey who’s eating chips) Hey, what are you doing? You gotta save room, you’ve got almost an entire turkey to eat!
Joey: Let me explain to you how the human body works. I have to warm up my stomach first. Eatin’ chips, is like stretching.
Monica: Okay..
Joey: Don’t worry, Tribbianis never get full.
Will: I actually know what you’re talking about and I’m here to tell you something friend, you can eat and eat and eat but nothing will ever fill that void.

Thanks to all those who’s been reading and commenting on my posts. Hope you guys enjoyed it! I appreciate all the compliments 🙂

November 28, 2010. Episode 9, Season 8.

2 Comments

  1. 30rox replied:

    You can tell you love the show, which makes your blog a lot more fun to read! The Friends holiday episodes are always fun to watch…I love the one when Joey gets the turkey stuck on his head.
    Congrats on a great blog!

  2. katiesorrels replied:

    Haha oh man, so many GREAT things in this episode,
    1) Joey’s infamous pregnancy turned turkey eating pants. they are just so darn attractive that they make me laugh every time I see them on screen.
    2) Brad Pitt pre- Angelina. I loved that he guest starred and I thought he did a great job. If only they were still together in real life, sigh…

    Great blog, thanks for allowing me to reminiscence some more on one of my favorite shows!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

